RailRoadFocus.com, source for railroads worldwide.
Eastern Railway (India) passenger trains
Eastern Railway was formed on 14th April, 1952 by integration of the East Indian Railway consisting of Sealdah, Howrah, Asansol and Danapur Divisions and the entire Bengal Nagpur Railway. Later, the portion of BNR stretching from Howrah to Visakhapatnam in the South, Howrah to Nagpur in the Central area and upto Katni in the North Central Region were seperated from Eastern Railway and formed as 'South Eastern Railway' with effect from 1st August 1955. After redistribution and construction of new lines over a period of time, Eastern Railway as on 30th September 2002 was stretched over 4245.61 kilometres. On 01-10-2002, three divisions viz. Dhanbad, Mughalsarai and Danapur have been separated from Eastern Railway to create new East Central Railway zone with headquarters at Hazipur. Thus, Eastern Railway now consists of 2382.38 Route Kilometres spread over four divisions viz. Sealdah, Howrah, Asansol and Malda.
Railroads of India

ID number: 1157889944
Hits since: Sun Sept 10, 2006
Hits: 120

Rate It [ 0.00 / 0 Votes ]

Report dead link!
Lodging AccommodationHotels in

Copyright © 2006-2021 Rang Ltd   Disclaimer & Copyright   Contact email or form
Advertising information
  Hosted by

Back to Top of the page