RailRoadFocus website logo

Railroads of

Railroad Regional Organisations     Railroad Services & Equipment     Railroad General History

Home : India

Local Time

Webmasters:   Suggest/Modify a local Link   Link to RailRoadFocus!     

Results 1 - 15 of 41

  1. Indian Railways Details
    Ministry of Railways website

  2. Centre for Railways Information System - CRIS (Indian Railways) passenger trains Details
    Timetables, routes, amenities

  3. Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation Ltd passenger trains Details
    The Mumbai Suburban Railway network caters to 6.3 million commuters everyday. It has the highest passenger density in the World, ahead of even Tokyo and Seoul. Almost half of the total daily passengers using the entire Indian Railway System are from Mumbai Suburban Railway system alone. Mumbai Suburban Railway system, in spite of heavy demands on it, has provided an efficient and reliable service. However, the pressure continues and today it has reached alarming proportions. Overcrowding has grown to such an extent that 5,000 passengers are traveling per 9-car train during peak hours, as against the rated carrying capacity of 1,710. This has resulted in, what is known as, super dense crush load of 14-16 standing passengers per square metre of floor space.

  4. East Central Railway (India) passenger trains Details
    Prior to 1996-97, Indian Railway consisted of nine Zones. On 16.06.96, Ministry of Railways decided to setup six new Zones to be carved out of the existing network of Indian Railway by reorganization of the existing zones. East Central Railway with its Headquarters at Hajipur in Bihar is one of these six new zones. Hajipur is the district Headquarters of Vaishali district and is located at approximately 25 kms by road and 200 kms away by rail route from Patna (Capital of Bihar). East Central Railway was inaugurated on 08.09.96. Jurisdiction of E. C. Railway consists of Sonepur & Samastipur division of N. E. Railway and Danapur, Dhanbad & Mughalsarai division of Eastern Railway respectively.

  5. South East Central Railway Details

  6. Konkan Railway passenger trains Details
    The Konkan railway runs from Mangalore via Goa to Rohan (near Mumbai).

  7. Darjeeling Himalayan Railway Details
    51-mile narrow gauge steam railway between New Jalpaiguri and Darjeeling.

  8. North Eastern Railway Details

  9. Eastern Railway (India) passenger trains Details
    Eastern Railway was formed on 14th April, 1952 by integration of the East Indian Railway consisting of Sealdah, Howrah, Asansol and Danapur Divisions and the entire Bengal Nagpur Railway. Later, the portion of BNR stretching from Howrah to Visakhapatnam in the South, Howrah to Nagpur in the Central area and upto Katni in the North Central Region were seperated from Eastern Railway and formed as 'South Eastern Railway' with effect from 1st August 1955. After redistribution and construction of new lines over a period of time, Eastern Railway as on 30th September 2002 was stretched over 4245.61 kilometres. On 01-10-2002, three divisions viz. Dhanbad, Mughalsarai and Danapur have been separated from Eastern Railway to create new East Central Railway zone with headquarters at Hazipur. Thus, Eastern Railway now consists of 2382.38 Route Kilometres spread over four divisions viz. Sealdah, Howrah, Asansol and Malda.

  10. North Central Railway (India) passenger trains Details
    North Central Railways, in its present form, came into existence on 1st Of April 2003. North Central Railways present network extends over a large area of North Central India, covering the states of Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana.

  11. Southern Railway (India) passenger trains Details
    Southern Railway, in its present form, came into existence on 14th April 1951 through the merger of the three state railways namely Madras and Southern Mahratta Railway, the South Indian Railway, and the Mysore state railway. Southern Railway's present network extends over a large area of India's Southern Peninsula, covering the states of Tamilnadu, Kerala, Pondicherry,and a small portion of Andhra Pradesh. Serving these naturally plentiful and culturally rich southern states, the SR extends from Mangalore on the west coast and Kanniyakumari in the south to Renigunta in the North West and Gudur in the North East.

  12. South Central Railway (India) passenger trains Details
    South Central Railway has completed 37 years of service since 2 October 1966. In this short period, SCR played a significant role in supplementing the green revolution and rapid industrial growth that have taken place in the Southern Peninsula by effectively meeting the growing transport requirements of the region.

  13. Northern Railways (India) passenger trains Details

  14. Indian Railways Online Passenger Reservation Site passenger trains Details

  15. Western Railway (India) passenger trains Details
    Western Railway in its present form came into existence on 5th November, 1951 by the merger of its forerunner, the erstwhile Bombay, Baroda and Central India Railway (BB&CI), with other State Railways viz, Saurashtra, Rajputana and Jaipur. The BB&CI Railway was itself inaugurated in 1855, starting with the construction of a 29 mile broad gauge track from Ankleshwar to Utran in Gujarat state on the West Coast. In 1864, the railway was extended up to Mumbai.

Switch to page 1   [2]   [3]  

Lodging AccommodationHotels in India

Search for:
                        Search Tip: Do not use the word  railway  in your search

Copyright © 2006-2022 Rang Ltd     Contact email or form
Disclaimer & Copyright   Privacy Policy
Advertising information
  To link to RailRoadFocus Click here!

Back to Top of the page